The feeling of home…

So as the last day of full lectures starts for freshers today with the evening drawing to a close with the Christmas ball, one has noticed how drained everyone seems to be. Harper is usually a place of fun and cheer (even on a Thursday after the main bar session the previous night) but the past few days everyone, including myself, have been preparing for the onset of exams starting Monday.

Whilst some are panicking, saying they should have done more, what else is there you can do other than study harder in the last few days there are. I want more so than ever to be home now, everything would seem to mould back. However, for one more week I am here, using all my energy to study and concentrate on the exams that are approaching.

I still require this feeling of being whole and here that can’t be achieved. I’m a work-a-holic and there’s nothing more that I love then pushing myself to the limit, physically draining all my energy providing for others. I need the home comforts too, how can you feel home when everyone you love and the animal companions you cherish are not by your side encouraging you and supporting you to carry out every task you desire.

Harper is a stepping stone in my life, getting my degree here will push me further towards my career plan and dream. I know one day and believe this was only one small step, but right now this seems to be such a huge leap. The little girl inside me just wants to be by the fire with mum and dad not giving a care to the world.

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You are on your own. And you know what you know. And you are the one who’ll decide where to go.

Dr. Seuss

We are born to believe everything we desire in life will come when we want, like a present from Santa. Reality is, we have to work hard to achieve our dreams, for some this is overwhelming, for others they thrive.

I will thrive. I will achieve.

Holls.

About hollsboll

I am going to be a vet
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The feeling of home…

  1. Pingback: So it’s been a while « Maddi At Uni

  2. Debz says:

    You’ll do it Holly, and a wonderful Xmas will be your reward 🙂 Love, love, LOVE the Dr Seuss quote!

Leave a Reply

